top of page
Search
  • aibyabala06

V. Teaching Practice


A.) Procedures of teaching

Science concepts and theories are universal. They are the same regardless of the country, the school or the place where you are at. This fact has put me into ease. However, as I figured out the learning context that I was facing, I realized that I have to develop a strategy in which my cooperating teacher, my students and I can meet halfway.

The challenge for me was the language barrier. My cooperating teacher and some of my students cannot understand nor speak English. With this, I decided that I should double my efforts. After my cooperating teacher gives me a lesson, I study it and choose the information that I would include in my presentation. When I'm done in finalizing the content, I translate everything into Bahasa Indonesia. I do not rely only on the online translator because it is not accurate all the time and so I consult my student buddy. During the actual lesson, I use the translated presentation that I prepared but I discuss everything in English. If the students have questions or clarifications, I asked my student buddy to help with the translation.


B.) Time management and organizing activities

Being aware that that there's a serious challenge for me in teaching, I set myself to be more conscious of the time, to make the most out of it. Everyday, I think of the things that need to be accomplished. I arrange my tasks based on their importance and the amount of effort and time that they would require.


C.) Problem-solving

All throughout my SEA-Teacher Program journey, there were problems that I've encountered, language barrier in particular. However, I have a mindset that every problem has solutions. All I have to do is identify the problem correctly and think of all the possible choices that I could make and steps that I could take. Every time that I have a problem, I try to weigh things carefully and choose what I think would be best not only for me, but also for the other concerned people and the situation as a whole.


D.) Classroom management

Before coming to Indonesia, I was a little bit anxious of the types of behaviors and attitudes that I would deal with and with the population of students in each classroom. Despite of these worries, I just told myself that whatever I be facing, I will take it as a challenge. To my surprise, classroom management has not been a headache to me at all. The students were attentive and cooperative. They show love for learning. Perhaps there are instances in which they become hyper, however, they are manageable.


E.) Overall impression in teaching

Teaching in Indonesia is such a great privilege and honor for me. It greatly contributed to my personal and professional growth and development. It also provided me with priceless experiences.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

VI. Summary and Suggestions

A.) Purposes of practicum Practicum is a requirement for the completion of my degree. However, I believe that there's more than this. Practicum is an opportunity to apply every theory or concept that

IV. Teaching Plan

A.) Curriculum The concepts and topics in Biology, be it be expressed in Filipino or in Bahasa Indonesia, are just the same. With regard to the lesson plan, the formats are different but my cooperatin

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page